Unmasking — my liberating January

Edward Adams
5 min readFeb 21, 2023

I’ve tried it, and quite enjoyed it. Some quick musings on my recent experiences.

Masking is often regarded as the most draining aspect of autism (image courtesy of engin akyurt via Unsplash)

I’ve finally done it. In January, I quit my job. I can speak a little more openly now in saying that I experienced bullying, discriminatory behaviour and also just suffered in a generally unsupportive environment, but I’ve taken the bold step to walk away.

I’m positive that I’m going onto something new that is right for me. It suits my structured brain and will mean I can give the best version of myself in a more organised and rigorous environment.

Above all else, I was optimistic after the kindest and friendliest interview I’ve ever done. Nobody went to any extra effort to accommodate my neurodivergence, they were simply themselves but were naturally great people, who were nice but amusing in equal measure. Interviews are definitely not always the most accurate barometer of what an organisational culture will be like, but they often give me a reasonably strong inkling.

I wanted to write briefly about unmasking, because that’s what I’ve been doing since resigning.

Masking is often documented as the most challenging part of autism. The practice of pretending to be somebody else, or at least acting in a way that will be considered more normal, more accepted, than the person’s natural personality.

--

--

Edward Adams

I write about: transformation, innovation and design thinking; autism and mental health; workplace culture and effectiveness.