Highlights of an autistic week off work

Edward Adams
6 min readNov 12, 2022

I’ve realised the benefits of taking some time out.

I have to admit, I had larger breakfasts than this during my week away! (image courtesy of Thought Catalog via Unsplash)

Friday 4th November 2022. A usual day in how it started. My alarm sounded at 5am, and I was out walking for the next hour. I then began work from home ahead of a long day.

The difference though, was that it was my last day before a week of holiday.

There’s something about those days which has to be cherished. As designers, we often find ourselves working long hours to meet deadlines or finish projects. While it’s important to stay focused and put in the time to get the job done, it’s also important to take some time for yourself to recharge and avoid burnout. That’s where holiday time comes in!

Holiday time gives us a chance to step away from our work and clear our minds. It allows us to come back refreshed and ready to tackle whatever challenges come our way. Additionally, it can be a great opportunity to travel and see new places, which can help inspire new ideas for our work.

Personally, I’ve always messed up my weeks of holiday. I just seem to glide through them without achieving or experiencing very much, and before I know it it’s the next Monday again.

This time was different, because of a few factors at home. What I have tried to do, though, is consciously focus on what the key benefits were…

--

--

Edward Adams

I write about: transformation, innovation and design thinking; autism and mental health; workplace culture and effectiveness.