Autistic burnout LIVE…

Edward Adams
5 min readJan 26, 2023

Coming to you LIVE from an autistic burnout episode.

I’m drowning in life, right now (image courtesy of nikko macaspac via Unsplash)

Autism is darn frustrating at times. I find my articulation is better when I have space and peace. However, it does mean I can’t necessarily get the contextual details across as well as I’d like. I might not remember them, or be able to put them into words.

I felt I’d reached autistic burnout some time ago, but it’s getting worse and worse. Granted, I have had a baby recently which does impact things, but it’s also just the drain of professionally dealing with a sh*t company culture, navigating narcissism and egotism and feeling lost, ignored and misunderstood.

My burnout is getting worse, meaning it’ll take longer before it gets better. I can’t afford to take large amounts of time out from work, so have to make other changes to minimise the effects.

In this moment, autistic burnout is…

Being woken by the alarm clock and, despite sleeping straight through the night, feeling like my legs are made of lead and I just can’t get up.

Crashing into walls, doors and other objects in my home because I can’t even find the energy to concentrate on walking in a straight line.

Not wanting to go out because it’s too much effort. Even though I know that walks are energising and the fresh air is good for my head…

--

--

Edward Adams

I write about: transformation, innovation and design thinking; autism and mental health; workplace culture and effectiveness.